football Edit

Alabama All-Stars

MONTGOMERY, Ala. - Jeremy Johnson of Carver-Montgomery and Nick Mullens of Spain Park have been selected as the quarterbacks for the 40-player Alabama All-Star Team that will face Mississippi in the 26th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Game Dec. 15.
The squad, comprised of current high school seniors, was announced Tuesday by Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).
The annual contest, an event of the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) and the AHSADCA, will be played for the second straight year at Montgomery's Cramton Bowl. Kickoff for the afternoon contest has not been set. Alabama holds an 18-7 edge in the series played at Mobile's Ladd-Peebles Stadium from 1988-2010.
Alabama won last year's game 31-12 with current University of Alabama freshman running back T.J. Yeldon earning MVP honors for Alabama. Alabama has won the last four in a row.
The head coach for the Alabama All-Stars is Mountain Brook's Chris Yeager.
The 6-foot-6 Johnson, an early Auburn commitment, has led the Wolverines to a 5-1 record this season while completing 88-of-133 passes for 1,600 yards and 19 touchdowns. He's thrown only four interceptions and has a completion rate of 66.2 percent. A strong runner who has good speed, Johnson has rushed for 447 yards and four touchdowns and is averaging 10.4 yards per carry. He is fast emerging as one of the top quarterback prospects in the nation in the Class of 2013.
Mullens, who is averaging well over 200 yards passing per game this season, passed for 2,877 yards and 22 touchdowns last season. He's on a pace to go over 3,000 yards this year. Still undecided, the 6-2 quarterback is recruited by several Division I schools from the Sun Belt Conference and Conference USA.
"Once again I think the selection committee has chosen an outstanding group of players," said Briggs. Several have already committed to Auburn and Alabama as well as Florida State, Texas A&M, Ole Miss, Vanderbilt, Mississippi State and Nebraska.
Running backs selected are Foley's Cedrix Reed, Clark Quisenberry of Enterprise, Joshua Walker of Austin and Johnathan Ford of New Hope. Ford, a Vanderbilt commitment, has rushed for over 1,000 yards this season.
Alabama's squad features at least 20 players who have already announced college choices, including six to the Auburn University and three to the University of Alabama.
Verbal commits for the Tigers include highly touted linebacker Reuben Foster of Auburn High School, defensive lineman Dee Liner of Muscle Shoals, wide receivers Earnest Robinson of Pinson Valley and Jason Smith of McGill-Toolen, defensive back Kamryn Melton of Dothan and Johnson.
Crimson Tide commitments include defensive back/athlete ArDarius Stewart of Fultondale, defensive lineman Darius Paige of Foley and offensive lineman Grant Hill of Huntsville.
Florida State commitments selected include defensive back Marquez White of Northview and Prattville offensive lineman Austin Golson. Wide receiver Cameron Echols-Luper of Auburn has already committed to Texas A&M, Oxford defensive lineman Trent Simpson to Mississippi State, linebackers Finesse Middleton of Gadsden City and Rashawn Smith of Florence to Ole Miss, and defensive back Jonathan Cook of Spanish Fort has announced plans to sign with Nebraska.
Half the squad (20) is still currently uncommitted.
The 40-man roster and coaching staff for the 2012 All-Star Game:
Quarterbacks (2): Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery (Auburn commitment), Nick Mullens, Spain Park

Running backs (4): Cedrix Reed, Foley, Clark Quisenberry, Enterprise, Joshua Walker, Austin, Johnathan Ford, New Hope (Vanderbilt commitment)

Tight End (1): Alontai Adams, Foley

Wide Receivers (4): Earnest Robinson, Pinson Valley (Auburn commitment), Jason Smith, McGill-Toolen (Auburn commitment), Cameron Echols-Luper, Auburn (Texas A&M commitment), Jarren Johnson, Jackson

Offensive Linemen (8): Grant Hill, Huntsville (Alabama commitment), Wilson Bell, Blount, Austin Golson, Prattville (Florida State commitment), Cameron Fraser, Central-Phenix City (South Florida commitment), Zach Sims, Homewood, Jess Cooper, Tuscaloosa County, Forrest Gardner, Baldwin County, Jonathan Raudales, Enterprise

P/K (1): Thomas Hamlin, McGill-Toolen

Athlete (1): Anthony Johnson, Maplesville

Defensive Line (6): Dee Liner, Muscle Shoals (Auburn commitment), Darius Paige, Foley (Alabama commitment), Finesse Middleton, Gadsden City (Ole Miss commitment), Rod Crayton, Dadeville, Rodney Edwards, Gadsden City, Trent Simpson, Oxford (Mississippi State commitment).

Linebackers (6): Reuben Foster, Auburn (Auburn commitment), Rashawn Smith, Florence (Ole Miss commitment), Derek King, Central-Phenix City, Brandon Fuller, Clay-Chalkville, John Patrick Sherling, Fairhope

Defensive Backs (8): Marquez White, Northview-Dothan (Florida State commitment), Kamryn Melton, Dothan (Auburn commitment), Shaun Rupert, Carver-Montgomery (Arkansas State commitment), Devon Earl, Hoover (South Alabama commitment), ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale (Alabama commitment), Trey Jenkins, Daphne (UAB commitment), Jonathan Cook, Spanish Fort (Nebraska commitment), Nate Andrews, Fairhope

Coaching Staff: Chris Yeager, Mountain Brook (head coach), Scott Rials, Elba, Mike Battles, Handley, Woodrow Lowe, Central-Phenix City, Rusty Funk, Marion County, Todd Watson, Foley, David Faulkner, Enterprise, Marty Rozell, Mountain Brook (Alabama scout).